The TCOLE Commission and its Members

The Commission sets policy, approves rules and procedures formulated by the Executive Director and staff, and takes formal disciplinary actions against licensees on the recommendation of the Executive Director and state Administrative Law Judges.

Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets at least four times each year in meetings open to the Public.  

Upcoming Meeting Dates and Locations

Meeting Date Meeting Location
August 4, 2022 - 9:30am University of Texas Permian Basin, 4901 E. University, Science and Technology Building, Cooper Lecture Hall, Odessa TX
October 26, 2022 - 9:00am American Bank Center 1901 Shoreline Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX


Watch the Meeting Live:  Live Recording  

(only available while Commssion Meetings are in progress)


Most Current Agendas

  • Commissioner Workshop
    Wednesday, June 8, 2022
    Get Minutes
    6330 E. Highway 290, Second Floor, Austin, Texas
  • Commission Meeting
    Thursday, June 9, 2022
    Get Minutes
    J.J. Pickle Research Campus, The Commons Learning Center, 10100 Burnet Road, Bldg. 137, Austin, Texas
  • Commissioner Workshop
    Wednesday, April 13, 2022
    Get Minutes
    DFW DPS Headquarters, 3600 South West 20th Street, DFW Airport

Most Current Minutes

  • Draft Meeting Minutes April 2022
    Get Minutes
  • Quarterly Meeting Minutes December 2021
    Get Minutes
  • Quarterly Meeting Minutes September 2021
    Get Minutes

Past Meeting Agendas, Minutes and Recordings

Public Comment / Proposed Rules

Proposed Rules are open for public comment.  Public comments may be submitted electronically to or in writing to Mr. Kim Vickers, Executive Director, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, 6330 East Hwy 290, Suite 200, Austin, TX 78723-1035.

Description Get File Meeting Date
September 2021 Proposed Rules Get Minutes 09/02/2021
September 2019 Proposed Rules Get Minutes 09/05/2019
March 2019 Proposed Rules Get Minutes 03/07/2019


Board Composition

The Commission is comprised of nine members. These members are appointed by the Governor, as is the Presiding Officer. The Commissioners serve staggered terms of six years and serve without compensation except for reasonable and necessary expenses. Three are members of the general public, three are law enforcement chief executive officers, and three are line personnel from law enforcement agencies at the time of their appointment. more about the commission and history...

Chief Kim Lemaux, Presiding Officer

Term: May 27, 2017 - August 30, 2027
Hometown: Arlington

Assistant Chief Jason D. Hester, Assistant Presiding Officer

Term: December 6, 2019 - August 30, 2025
Hometown: Lago Vista

Patricia Burruss, Secretary

Term: December 6, 2019 - August 30,2025
Hometown: Olmito

Janna Atkins

Term: January 7, 2019 - August 30, 2023
Hometown: Abilene

Michael Griffis, Sheriff

Term: December 6, 2019 - August 30, 2025

Ron E. Hood, Constable

Term: February 16, 2018 - August 30, 2023
Hometown: Dripping Springs

Mario Lizcano, Jr.

Term: March 22, 2022 - August 30, 2027
Hometown: Pharr

Tim Whitaker, Senior Police Officer

Term: May 27, 2017 - August 30, 2021
Hometown: Richmond