Agency Chief Administrators
Training Requirements for Police Chiefs
The Bill Blackwood Institute, Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas (LEMIT), at Sam Houston State University provides free continuing education for heads of police departments. You may schedule your training by contacting Donna Garcia at (936) 294-3852, or email her. Training dates and locations can be found on LEMIT’s web site at www.lemitonline.org.
The Education Code, Section 96.641 states, in part:
96.641(b) - “Each police chief must receive at least 40 hours of continuing education provided by the institute under this section each 24-month period."
An individual appointed or elected to that individual's first position as chief must receive not fewer than 80 hours of initial training for new chiefs.
A newly appointed or elected police chief shall complete the initial training program for new chiefs not later than the second anniversary of that individual's appointment or election as chief.
Once an individual completes the initial training program for new chiefs, the continuing education requirement (96.641(b)) begins on the first full 24-month period following that training.
An individual who is subject to the continuing education requirements of 96.641 (b) is exempt from other continuing education requirements under Subchapter H, Chapter 1701, of the Occupations Code.
Proficiency Charts for:
Chief administrators can report general continuing education training using the general reporting numbers set up by TCOLE.
Go to the Course Reporting Numbers page to see a list of the general continuing education courses and their reporting numbers. Curriculum specific courses and their reporting numbers can also be found on that page. Usually, only approved training providers use these course reporting numbers.
Law Enforcement Achievement Awards
The State of Texas is proud of its law enforcement officers and has created an annual program to recognize the best and the most courageous officers. If someone under your command could be submitted for these prestigious awards, please check our State of Texas Achievement Awards Nomination page for more information.
General Administrative Responsibilities
Chief Administrators Desk Reference
Commission Rule 211.19
An agency chief administrator is responsible for making any and all reports and submitting any and all documents required of that agency by the commission.
An agency appointing a person who does not hold a commission license must file an application for the appropriate license with the commission.
Before an agency appoints any licensee to a position requiring a commission license it shall complete the reporting requirements of Texas Occupations Code §1701.451.
An agency shall notify the commission, electronically or in writing, within 30 days, when it receives information that a person under appointment with that agency has been arrested, charged, indicted, or convicted for any offense above a Class C misdemeanor, or for any Class C misdemeanor involving the duties and responsibilities of office or family violence.
Except in the case of a commission error, an agency that wishes to report a change to any information within commission files about a licensee shall do so in a request to the commission, containing: (1) licensees name, date of birth, last four digits of the social security number, or PID (2) requested change; and (3) reason for the change.
An agency must notify the commission, electronically or in writing, following the requirements of Texas Occupations Code §1701.452 within 7 business days, when a person under appointment with that agency resigns or is terminated.
An agency chief administrator must comply with orders from the commission regarding the correction of a report of resignation/termination or request a hearing from SOAH.
Line of duty deaths shall be reported to the commission in current peace officers’ memorial reporting formats.
An individual who is appointed or elected to the position of the chief administrator of a law enforcement agency shall notify the Commission of the date of appointment and title, through a form prescribed by the Commission within 30 days of such appointment.
An individual who vacates an appointed or elected position of the chief administrator of a law enforcement agency shall notify the Commission of the date the position was terminated, through a form prescribed by the Commission within 7 business days of vacating that position.
An agency chief administrator must report to the commission within 30 days, any change in the agency’s name, physical location, mailing address, electronic mail address, or telephone number.
Texas Government Code Chapter 614
The Texas Government Code lists various requirements agencies regarding peace officers and firefighters.
- Section 614.021 identifies the process for accepting and receiving complaints against a peace officer
- Section 614.122 identifies the requirements for agencies to issue an ID card to a peace officer.
Continuing Education of Officers Under Your Command - Commission Rule 217.11(b)
Each agency that appoints or employs peace officers, reserve law enforcement officers, jailers, or public security officers shall provide each peace officer, reserve law enforcement officer, jailer, or public security officer it appoints or employs a continuing education program at least once every 48 month training cycle. This rule does not limit the number of hours of continuing education an agency may provide to each peace officer, reserve law enforcement officer, jailer, or public security officer it appoints or employs.