
Proposed Amendments 
 
Proposed Amendment 1: Rule 211.1 (amended) 
Summary:  The proposed amendment clarifies which police chiefs must attend chiefs 
training through the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas 
as required under Texas Administrative Code, Section 1701.358 and Texas Education 
Code, Section 96.641. 
 
211.1.  Definitions: 
(a) The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  
 

(49) Police Chief--The head of a police department. A police chief is a chief 
administrator as defined above. 

(50) Police Department--A municipal police department, an independent 
school district police department, or a police department of a public or 
private institution of higher education. This does not include state 
agencies that are not institutions of higher education, county agencies, 
water districts, city marshals’ offices, or any other type of law enforcement 
agency not listed above. 

 
 

Proposed Amendment 2: Rule 218.3 (repeal) 
Summary:  This repeal is being replaced with a new Rule 218.3 
 
 
Proposed Amendment 3: Rule 218.3 (new) 
Summary:  The new rule consolidates all legislatively required continuing education 
training requirements into one rule. 
 
§218.3.  Legislatively Required Continuing Education for Licensees. 
(a) Each agency that appoints licensees shall provide each licensee with a continuing 

education program to meet or exceed the requirements of this section. This 
section does not limit the number of hours of continuing education an agency 
may provide. 

(b) Each training unit (2 years) 
1) Peace officers shall complete at least 40 hours of continuing education, to 

include the corresponding legislative update for that unit. 



2) Telecommunicators shall complete at least 20 hours of continuing 
education. 

(c) Each training cycle (4 years) 
1. Peace officers who have not yet reached intermediate proficiency 

certification shall complete: Cultural Diversity (3939), Special Investigative 
Topics (3232), Crisis Intervention (3843) and De-escalation (1849). 

2) Individuals licensed as reserve law enforcement officers, jailers, or public 
security officers shall complete Cultural Diversity (3939), unless the 
person has completed or is otherwise exempted from legislative required 
training under another commission license or certificate.  

(d) Assignment specific training 
1) Police chiefs: individuals appointed as "chief" or "police chief" of a police 

department shall complete:  
a. For an individual appointed to that individual’s first position as 

chief, the initial training program for new chiefs provided by the 
Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute, not later 
than the second anniversary of that individual's appointment or 
election as chief; and 

b. At least 40 hours of continuing education for chiefs each 24-month 
unit, as provided by the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement 
Management Institute. 

2) Constables: elected or appointed constables shall complete: 
a. For an individual appointed or elected to that individual’s first 

position as constable, the initial training program for new 
constables provided by the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement 
Management Institute, not later than the second anniversary of that 
individual's appointment or election as constable. 

b. At least 40 hours of continuing education for constables each 48 
month cycle, as provided by the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement 
Management Institute. 

3) Deputy constables: each deputy constable shall complete a 20 hour course 
of training in civil process each training cycle. The commission may waive 
the requirement for this training if the constable, in the format required by 
TCOLE, requests exemption due to the deputy constable not engaging in 
civil process as part of their assigned duties. 

4) New supervisors: each peace officer assigned to their first position as a 
supervisor must complete new supervisor training within one year prior 
to or one year after appointment as a supervisor. 

5) School-based Law Enforcement Officers: School district peace officers and 
school resource officers providing law enforcement services at a school 



district with an enrollment of 30,000 or more students must obtain a 
school-based law enforcement proficiency certificate within 120 days of 
the officer’s commission or placement in the district or campus of the 
district. 

6) Eyewitness Identification Officers: peace officers performing the function 
of eyewitness identification must first complete the Eyewitness 
Identification training (3286). 

7) Courtroom Security Officers/Persons: any person appointed to perform 
courtroom security functions at any level shall complete the Courtroom 
Security course (10999) within 1 year of appointment (to be added 
September 1, 2019). 

8)  Body Worn Cameras- peace officers and other persons meeting the 
requirements of Occupations Code 1701.656 must first complete Body-
worn Camera training (8158). 

(e) Miscellaneous training 
1) Human Trafficking: every peace officer first licensed on or after January 1, 

2011, must complete Human Trafficking (3270), within 1 year after 
licensing. 

2) Canine Encounters: every peace officer first licensed on or after January 1, 
2016, must take Canine Encounters (4065), within 2 years of being 
licensed. 

3) Deaf and Hard of Hearing Drivers: every peace officer licensed on or after 
March 1, 2016, must complete Deaf and Hard of Hearing Drivers (7887) 
within 2 years of being licensed. 

4) Civilian Interaction Training: every peace officer licensed before January 
1, 2018, must complete Civilian Interaction Training Program (CITP) 
within 2 years. All other peace officers must complete the course within 2 
years of being licensed. 

5) Crisis Intervention Training: every peace officer licensed on or after April 
1, 2018, must complete the 40 hour Crisis Intervention Training within 2 
years of being licensed. 

6) Mental Health for Jailers: all county jailers must complete Mental Health 
for Jailers not later than August 31, 2021. 

(f) The Commission may choose to accept an equivalent course for any of the 
courses listed in this chapter, provided the equivalent course is evaluated by 
commission staff and found to meet or exceed the minimum curriculum 
requirements of the legislatively mandated course. 

(g) The commission shall provide adequate notice to agencies and licensees of 
impending non-compliance with the legislatively required continuing education.   



(h) The chief administrator of an agency that has licensees who are in non-
compliance shall, within 30 days of receipt of notice of non-compliance, submit a 
report to the commission explaining the reasons for such non-compliance. 

(i) Licensees shall complete the legislatively mandated continuing education in the 
first complete training unit, as required, or first complete training cycle, as 
required, after being licensed.   

(j) All peace officers must meet all continuing education requirements except where 
exempt by law. 

(k) The effective date of this section is November 1, 2018. 
 
 
Proposed Amendment 4: Rule 223.17 (amended) 
Summary:  The proposed amendment mirrors the current reactivation process. 
 
§223.17.  Reinstatement of a License 
(a) To reinstate a suspended or probated license for a licensee that meets current 

training requirements and has continually maintained legislatively required 
continuing education for the duration of the suspension or probation, a licensee 
must: 
(1) make application for reinstatement in the format currently prescribed by 

the commission; and 
(2) submit any required fee(s). 

(b) A licensee that does not meet current training requirements, or has failed to 
continually maintain the legislatively required continuing education for the 
duration of the suspension or probation, must meet the reactivation of a license 
requirement in the format currently prescribed by the commission. [following 
requirements:] 
[(1) If less than two years from last appointment held:] 

[(A) meet current licensing standards;] 
[(B) successfully complete legislatively required continuing education; 

and] 
[(C) make application and submit any required fee(s) in the format 

currently prescribed by the commission.] 
[(2) If two years but less than five years from last appointment held:] 

[(A) meet current licensing standards;] 
[(B) successfully complete a supplementary peace officer training 

course approved by the commission;] 
[(C) make application and submit any required fee(s) in the format 

currently prescribed by the commission; and] 



[(D) pass the licensing exam.] 
[(3) If five years or more from last appointment held:] 

[(A) meet current enrollment standards;] 
[(B) meet current licensing standards;] 
[C) successfully complete the basic licensing course for the license 

sought;] 
[(D) make application and submit any required fee(s) in the format 

currently prescribed by the commission; and] 
[E) pass the licensing exam.] 

(c) The effective date of this section is November 1, 2018. [February 1, 2016.] 
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