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This bulletin is about obtaining a Peace Officer, Correctional Officer (Jailer), or Telecommunications 
Officer License, without having had a previous license of that type. TCOLE does have a path (and 
Bulletin) for Out-of-State Police/Military Police/Federal Law Enforcement to obtain a Texas License 
through a separate track. TCOLE does not have such a track for Out-of-State/Military/Federal Jailers or 
Telecommunicators. 
 
Requirements for obtaining a license for each of the license types are almost the same, with the major 
difference being the type of basic licensing course (academy) required: 
 

1. Meet the minimum eligibility requirements of Rule 217.1- 
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=37&pt=7&ch=217&rl=Y,  

2. Complete the required academy. *College degrees or other training are not an acceptable 
substitute for a TCOLE approved academy. 

3. Pass the State Licensing Exam. 
4. Locate an agency willing to appoint you to that license. Your license will not be issued until you 

are actually appointed.  
 
*In the case of Jailers and Telecommunicators, an agency may appoint you prior to taking or completing 
your academy, as long as you meet the requirements of Rule 217.1. At that time a Temporary License is 
issued, which gives you 1 year to complete the required training. This option is not available for Peace 
Officers.  
 
Some persons choose to attend an academy on their own, prior to looking for an appointing agency. 
Others may choose to locate an agency that will hire them and put them through an academy as part of 
the job requirement. The first option certainly can make a person more marketable, but academies can be 
expensive, and there is no paycheck while attending. There is also the possibility that after attending an 
academy on your own, a hiring agency may have the person repeat their own academy. The time 
required for completing basic licensing training varies by license, but is a major time commitment for 
each. Current minimum required hours are: 
 

1. Peace Officer- 643 hours (this will increase to 696 hours in the near future) 
2. Jailer- 120 hours (including Mental Health for Jailers, 4900). 
3. Telecommunicator-64 hours (including Crisis Communication, 2120. This will increase to 80hrs in 

the near future) 
 
After completion of the applicable academy, the person is given 3 attempts must pass the State Licensing 
Exam within 180 days. Failure to pass the Exam in that time frame or failing all 3 attempts will require 
repeating the academy. Once the Exam is passed, the person has 2 years from the date of the Exam to 
be appointed to that license type. Failure to be appointed in that time frame means that the academy 
must be repeated. 
 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=37&pt=7&ch=217&rl=Y
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A list of Texas Academies is on our website, here- http://www.tcole.texas.gov/law-enforcement-
academies. Keep in mind that some Sheriff’s Departments, not listed as Academies, may still conduct 
Jailer and Telecommunicator academies, if they have a Training Provider Contract and prior approval 
from TCOLE. Contract Training Providers are listed on our website, here- 
http://www.tcole.texas.gov/contract-training-providers.  
 
Please be aware that both academies and law enforcement agencies may have standards higher than 
those required by TCOLE. TCOLE encourages this. Setting those standards is up to the individual 
agencies and is not controlled by TCOLE, unless the agency attempts to license persons who do not 
meet the minimum standards imposed by Rule 217.1. 
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