

TEXAS COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT

Technical Assistance Bulletin

To: All Texas Law Enforcement Agencies/Contract Training Providers/Licensees

From: Kenny Merchant/Director, Credentialing and Field Services **40hr Crisis Intervention Training (85**th Legislature)

Date: August 30, 2019

The Sandra Bland Act (SB1849) from the 85th Legislative Session contained numerous requirements for peace officers in Texas. The one that seems to be causing the most confusion is the 40 hour Crisis Intervention Training course (1850) for peace officers. Everyone seems to be on-board with the fact that the existing 16hr "Old" CIT course ceased to exist on April 1, 2018. But what does this change mean for the Basic Peace Officer Licensing Course and initial licensing, for Proficiency Certification requirements, and for Continuing Education requirements? Let's break it down for each of those requirements:

Starting with the BPOC and initial licensing - it is clear under Occupations Code 1701.253(j) that the 40 hour course is added to the minimum curriculum requirements. To that end, the New CIT will be included in the next update to the BPOC (1000696). 1701.2539(j) also states that a licensee must take the New CIT (if not taken in the academy) "not later than the second anniversary of the date the officer is licensed under this chapter, or the date the officer applies for an intermediate proficiency certificate, whichever is earlier." So for those officers licensed on or after April 1, 2018 (the effective date of this legislation), who have not had the New CIT as part of their BPOC, the New CIT must be taken within 2 years of license issuance.

For purposes of Proficiency Certification, we once again use the quote from 1701.253(j), above, that reads "not later than the second anniversary of the date the officer is licensed under this chapter, or the date the officer applies for an intermediate proficiency certificate, whichever is earlier." Existing statute under 1701.402(g) reinforces that the new CIT is required for the Intermediate, and also adds the Advanced Certification to that requirement. Now we know the officer must have the New CIT for their Intermediate or Advanced Certification, if they apply for the Certification on or after April 1, 2018 (the effective date of the legislation).

Lastly, continuing education- since the text of SB1849 only addresses the New CIT requirements under the context of the BPOC, new licensees, and Proficiency Certification; it is not required for continuing education under the new 40 hour format. Therefore, the existing 8 hour CIT Update (course 3843) may still be used for the Training Cycle mandate.

At this time, the Mental Health Officer Course (4001) that could previously be substituted for the 8 hour or 16 hour CIT courses, is NOT considered an equivalent for the new 40 hour course. It will, however, still pass as an equivalent for the 8 hour CIT Update course for Training Cycle mandates.

Phone: (512) 936-7700 Fax: (512) 936-7714 6330 E Highway 290 STE 200 Austin TX 78723-1035