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Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 
Peace Officer Reactivation Packet 

 

This packet should be used if your license has been placed in an inactive status because you were not appointed at the 
end of a unit or cycle and did not meet continuing education requirements. 

This packet must also be used if you were not appointed within two years from initial licensure. 
 

 Qualifications for Reactivation  

• Meet the current licensing standards in§217.1; 
o You must have a national criminal history records check based on your fingerprints. Included with this 

application is the Fingerprint Application Services of Texas (FAST). 
o For questions about the fingerprint process call (512) 936-7700. 

• Must never have received a dishonorable military discharge; include DD214, if applicable. 
• Must meet current continuing education requirements of §218.3 based on proficiency level. 
• Must meet current legislatively mandated coursework applicable to your license as stated in§218.3. 
• Must complete any applicable supplemental training, skill assessment, or basic licensing course, depending on 

type of licensee reactivation category. 
• Make application and submit any required fees. 

o An incomplete application will be returned. 
• Pass the appropriate licensing exam, if applicable. Do not schedule the state licensing exam before receiving 

notification from TCOLE that you are eligible. 
• Retired peace officers must meet the requirements of Texas Occupation Code §1701.3161: “Reactivation 

of Peace Officer License: Retired Peace Officers.” 
 
 

 How to Use this Reactivation Packet  

1. Use your personal status report (PSR), and the following worksheet to determine the licensee reactivation 
category. Please be sure to check the correct category box when you fill out the application. 

2. The category you are in dictates the minimum training and steps needed to reactivate your license. 
3. A complete description of what is required for each category of reactivation is listed on the Licensee 

Reactivation Procedure Chart. 
4. ALERRT training must be completed thru a TCOLE Training Provider found on our website. If ALERRT Level 1 has not 

been completed, you will be required to complete ALERRT Level 1 per SB 1852. 
5. Once all requirements have been met, please mail this application, the processing fee, and a copy the DD214 (if 

applicable) to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, 6330 E. Highway 290, STE. 200, Austin, Texas 
78723-1035. 

• The reactivation application fees are: $150 for retired peace officers and $250 for all other applicants. 
• The application processing fee is non-refundable. 

6. Reactivation is complete upon TCOLE’s review and approval of national criminal history records check based on 
FAST results. The FAST submission is mandatory for all licensees, except for those attending a new basic 
licensing course. 

7. Note- for those licensees completing a new basic licensing course as part of, or in lieu of required reactivation 
courses, the fee is waived, but this form MUST STILL BE SUBMITTED. Failure to submit the Reactivation 
Application will result in ANY subsequent appointment being rejected by the Commission. 
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Not appointed within 
two, but less thanfive 

years from initial 
licensure 

Category 3 

Start Here 

Not appointed within 
five years or more of 

initial licensure 
Category 4 

Individuals not currently appointed: 
 

Individuals never appointed: 
 
 
 
 
 
 



IUF 02.004 Peace Officer Reactivation Packet 01.15.2025 3 of 4  

Licensee Reactivation Procedure Chart 
Category Step 1 (C.E. TRAINING BASED ON CERTIFICATE LEVEL) Step 2 Step 3 Step 4 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1 

Basic or no Certificate level 
40 hours to include: 

• State and Federal 
Law Update 

• CIT 
• Cultural Diversity 
• Special Investigative 

Topics 
• De-escalation 

Techniques 
• ALERRT training (16 

hrs) 
• Finding Wellness – 

Building a Healthier 
Life 

• Trauma-Informed 
Approach to Sexual 
Assault 
Investigations 

• The below 
coursework, if not 
completed prior to 
going inactive 

Intermediate level or higher 
40 hours to include: 

• State and Federal 
Law Update 

• ALERRT training (16 
hrs) MUST BE 
COMPLETED THRU 
A TCOLE TRAINING 
PROVIDER. If you 
have not 
completed #3311, 
you will be 
required to 
complete that 
course. 

• Finding Wellness – 
Building a Healthier 
Life 

• Trauma-Informed 
Approach to Sexual 
Assault Investigations 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
FAST 

 
Fingerprint 
Submission 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Mail Application 
with Fee 

 
Retired Peace Officer 

- 
$150 

All others - $250 

 

License Mandated Courses Licensed on or after – 
1/1/2011 – Human Trafficking, unless completed in BPOC 
1000696 or 1000720 
1/1/2016 – Canine Encounters, unless completed in BPOC 
1000696 or 1000720 
3/1/16 – Interacting with Deaf/Hard of Hearing Drivers, unless 
completed in BPOC 1000696 or 1000720 
4/1/2018 – CIT (40 hours), unless completed in BPOC 
1000667,1000696 or 1000720 
#30418 – Civilian Interaction Training, unless 
completed in BPOC 1000696,1000720 or 1000736 

 
 

2 

Complete all courses listed in Category 1, above. 
 

In addition, Complete the Supplemental Peace Officer Course 
(1018) within 180 days prior to your application submission. 

 

FAST 
 

Fingerprint 
Submission 

 
 

Mail 
Application 
with $250 Fee 

Exam 
• Less than 10 years of 

full-time service – 250 
question exam. 

• 10 years of full-time 
service or more – 100 
question exam. 

 
 

3 

Complete all courses listed in Categories 1 and 2, above. 
 

In addition, Complete the peace Officers Reactivation Skills 
Assessment (7878) within 180 days prior to your application 
submission. 

 

FAST 
 

Fingerprint 
Submission 

 
 

Mail 
Application 
with $250 Fee 

Exam 
• Less than 10 years of 

full-time service – 250 
question exam. 

• 10 years of full-time 
service or more – 100 
question exam. 

 
4 

 
 

Enroll in a TCOLE Law Enforcement Academy 

 

Completes 
BPOC 

Pass Licensing Exam 
 

Mail application, 
no fee required 
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FINGER PRINT INSTRUCTION FORM 
TEXAS COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT 

(TCOLE/Service Code 11G4J8) 
 
 
 

1. Schedule an appointment to be electronically fingerprinted by MorphoTrust USA at one of their 
IdentoGo enrollment centers. 

• Internet based scheduling is the quickest and most convenient way to obtain a 
fingerprint appointment. 

a. You may begin the process by visiting this link: https://identogo.com 
b. Click – Texas 
c. Digital Fingerprinting 
d. Service Code: 11G4J8 
e. Schedule your appointment accordingly. 
f. Academy Number: LE-453007 

• If you prefer to schedule over the telephone, youmust: 
a. Have your Service Code ready (11G4J8), then call 888.467.2080; 
b. MorhphoTrust will prompt you for the Service Code (11G4J8); 
c. Schedule your appointment accordingly. 

2. Arrive at your scheduled appointment with your photo identification and fee. 
• If you plan on bringing a form of identification other than a valid (unexpired) TX Driver License, 

please refer to the Department of Public Safety’s acceptable document types here: 
http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc 

• MorphoTrust accepts Visa/MasterCard/Discover/American Express, business checks,money 
orders and coupon codes (employer accounts) at the time ofservice. 

• Please note that personal checks and cash are not accepted. 
3. Your fingerprints will be submitted electronically to DPS and the FBI. You will not receive a printed 

fingerprint card. 
4. At the conclusion of your appointment, the MorphoTrust enrollment agent will provide you with an 

IdentoGo receipt stating that you were fingerprinted. 
• Do not throw away the receipt; 
• You may check status on your submission by clicking on thislink: 

https://uenroll.identogo.com/workflows/11G4J8 and then; 
• Click “Check Status” 

Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the Texas Department of Public Safety and 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with applicable statutes. 

https://identogo.com/
http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc
https://uenroll.identogo.com/workflows/11g4j8
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TCOLE Peace Officer License Reactivation 
Application 

Commission Rule §219.11 
 

Non-refundable fee must be included. Money order, agency, or cashier’s check. (5111) 
 

AP
PL

IC
AN

TI
N

FO
RM

AT
IO

N
 

1. TCOLE PID 2. Last Name 3. First Name 4. M.I. 5. Suffix (Jr. etc.) 

6. Race / Ethnicity 7. DOB 8. Gender 9. Driver’s License 
State: Num.:  American Indian or Alaskan Native Asian  Male 

Female Black Hispanic Multicultural White 
 17. High School Diploma or GED 
  Yes  No 

10. Home Mailing Address 11. City 12. State 

13. Zip Code 14. Phone Number 15. E-mail 

16. Licensee Reactivation Category 
 

Category 1 Category 2 Category 3 Category 4 

I attest that I meet current requirements for the above selected license. I am fully aware that this application is a government 
document and, under penalties of perjury, I declare the foregoing information to be true and correct. 

 
 
 

   /  /   
Signature of Applicant or License Holder Date 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me,this the  day of  ,    

Notary public in and for, State of Texas  
My Commission expires  /  /    

 Printed Name of Notary 

 
Notary Seal or Stamp 

 

 Signature of Notary 
 
 

Please mail your complete application to: 
Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 
6330 E. Highway 290, STE. 200 
Austin, Texas 78723-1035 

 
Attachments Included: 

 Reactivation fee. Non-Refundable money order, agency or cashier’s check $150 for retired peace officers 
$250 for all other applicants 

 DD214 if applicable 
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