
PUBLICATION IN TEXAS REGISTER 
 
The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (Commission) adopts amended 37 Texas 
Administrative Code §215.9, Training Coordinator, without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the July 25, 2025 issue of the Texas Register (50 TexReg 4346).  The rule will not be 
republished. 
 
This adopted amended rule requires a training coordinator to report to the Commission the 
separation of any student from a basic licensing course within 30 days of separation.  Previously, 
only students who successfully completed a basic licensing course were reported to the 
Commission.  This amendment will allow the tracking of all students who enroll in a basic 
licensing course to improve data collection on enrollment patterns and academy operations.  The 
Commission can use this data to allocate resources appropriately.  Another goal is to reduce 
academy shopping by applicants through the collection and sharing of academy records of 
separated applicants. 
 
The public comment period began on July 25, 2025, and ended on September 4, 2025, at the 
conclusion of the public meeting of the Commission.  One public comment was received. 
 
Public Comment: Commentor asked if the requirement to report the separation of a student from 
a basic licensing course applies to the training coordinator over the basic licensing course or the 
training coordinator of the employing agency. 
 
Commission Response: It applies to the training coordinator over the basic licensing course as they 
are the training coordinator over the course from which the student has separated. 
 
The amended rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code §1701.151, General Powers of 
Commission; Rulemaking Authority, and §1701.153, Reports from Agencies and Schools.  Texas 
Occupations Code §1701.151 authorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the administration of 
Occupations Code Chapter 1701.  Texas Occupations Code §1701.153 requires the Commission 
to establish reporting standards and procedures for the activities of licensed training schools and 
for matters the Commission considers necessary for the administration of Occupations Code 
Chapter 1701. 
 
The amended rule as adopted affects or implements Texas Occupations Code §1701.151, General 
Powers of Commission; Rulemaking Authority, and §1701.153, Reports from Agencies and 
Schools.  No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal. 
 
The adopted amended rule has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of 
the Commission's legal authority. 
 
§215.9. Training Coordinator.  
(a) A training coordinator must hold a valid instructor license or certificate and must be a full-time 
paid employee of that Training Provider. 
(b) The training coordinator must: 
  (1) ensure compliance with commission rules and guidelines; 



  (2) prepare, maintain, and submit the following reports within the time frame specified: 
    (A) reports of training: 
      (i) basic licensing course shall be submitted prior to students attempting a licensing exam; and 
      (ii) within 30 days of completion of continuing education course; 
    (B) self-assessment reports as required by the commission; 
    (C) a copy of advisory board minutes during an on-site evaluation; 
    (D) training calendars-schedules must be available for review and posted on the internet, or 
another public venue, no later than 30 days prior to the beginning of each calendar quarter or 
academic semester. A continually updated and posted (live) calendar will meet this requirement; 
and 
    (E) any other reports or records as requested by the commission; 
  (3) report the separation of any student who fails to complete a basic licensing course on a form 
prescribed by the commission within 30 days; 
  (4) be responsible for the administration and conduct of each course, including those conducted 
at ancillary sites, and specifically: 
    (A) appointing and supervising qualified instructors; 
    (B) maintaining course schedules and training files. At a minimum, training files shall contain: 
      (i) complete lesson plan; 
      (ii) clear learning objectives; 
      (iii) instructor biography indicating subject matter expertise and teaching experience; 
      (iv) approved class roster and original sign-in sheet; and 
      (v) course evaluation; 
    (C) enforcing all admission, attendance, retention, and other standards set by the commission 
and approved by the advisory board; 
    (D) securing and maintaining all facilities necessary to meet the inspection standards of this 
section; 
    (E) controlling the discipline and demeanor of each student and instructor during class; 
    (F) distributing a current version of the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1701 and commission 
rules to all students at the time of admission to any course that may result in the issuance of a 
license; 
    (G) distributing learning objectives to all students at the beginning of each course; 
    (H) ensuring that all learning objectives are taught and evaluated; 
    (I) proctoring or supervising all examinations to ensure fair, honest results; and 
    (J) maintaining training files, records of tests, and other evaluation instruments for a period of 
five years; 
  (5) receive all commission notices on behalf of the training provider and forward each notice to 
the appointing authority; 
  (6) attend or have a designee attend each academy coordinator's workshop conducted by the 
commission. No person may serve as a representative for more than one provider per conference. 
Each representative must be affiliated with the training provider; and 
  (7) notify the commission of any failed medical (L-2) or psychological (L-3) examination within 
30 days on a form prescribed by the commission. 



(c) If the position of training coordinator becomes vacant, upon written request from the chief 
administrator of the training provider the commission may, at the discretion of the executive 
director, waive the requirements for a period not to exceed six months. 
(d) Upon written request from the chief administrator of a training provider that does not have a 
full-time paid staff, the commission may, at the discretion of the executive director, waive the 
requirements in subsection (a) of this section. 
(e) The effective date of this section is November 1, 2025. 


