• 60th Legislature appropriated money – Wallace D. Beasley appointed as Director, plus four employees.

  • Glen H. Mclaughlin served as the first Chairman of the Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education.

  • Voluntary program of certification was implemented and three levels of peace officers were provided: Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced.