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To:  All Texas Law Enfocement Agencies / Academies / Licensees 
From:  Michael Antu/Director, Special Services and Enforcement 
Regarding: Required L-2 and L-3 Procedures 
Date:  6-18-20       
 
TCOLE rules outline the steps one should follow to procure the physical/drug (L-2) and psychological (L-
3) examination. Agency guidelines must be checked to ensure they meet or exceed 217.1 (b) standards: 
 
L-2 Requirements: 
1. The L-2 must be fully signed and executed within 180 days before the first day of the academy. 
2. The physician must be selected by the employing agency (or the academy for independent cadets). 

Giving the cadet the L-2 form and letting them find a physician does not meet the rule. 
3. The physician must be licensed by the Texas Medical Board.  You can go to the following web site to 

verify licensing status:  http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/look-up-a-license 
4. TCOLE has administratively determined that a physician assistant (PA) and a nurse practitioner (NP) 

may conduct the exam and endorse the L-2.  You can go to the following web site to confirm that 
the certified nurse practitioner (NP) is properly licensed. The words “nurse practioner” will show in 
the license title. A Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN), Registered Nurse (RN), etc. do not meet the 
rule. You can go here to confirm a license status: https://www.bon.texas.gov/forms/applstatus.asp.  

5. The physician must be familiar with the job/academy duties.  One way to ensure this is to provide a 
copy of the job description and have the physician sign documentation stating they received and 
understood the job description. 

6. The physician must read, sign and date the L-2 form in the appropriate section. It must be physically 
signed by the physician, PA or NP. The use of a signature stamp, e-signature, or signature by an 
assistant does not meet the rule requirement. 

7. The drug test section must meet the same standards as those shown above for the physical exam. 
For new licensees, both the physical exam and the drug test sections of the L-2 must be signed.  
Telecommunicators may undergo both the physical exam and the drug screen, but 
telecommunicators are only required to undergo the drug screening process. Jailers and Peace 
Officers must undergo both examinations. For previous licensees, only the drug screen is required. 

8. TCOLE will also accept certified US DOT locations for drug screen test purposes only.  For more 
information on US DOT approved sites in Texas go to: https://www.transportation.gov/odapc/labs. 

9. TCOLE requires you maintain the L-2 drug form.  TCOLE does not require you to maintain the actual 
drug lab test detailed results.  If you do retain the medical lab report, ensure that it was generated 
or “reported” before the date of the physican signature on the L-2.  Keep in mind that the detailed 
medical lab report (not the L-2) may be considered a medical form regulated by HIPPA. 

 
 
 

http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/look-up-a-license
https://www.bon.texas.gov/forms/applstatus.asp
https://www.transportation.gov/odapc/labs


TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 

 2 

Kim Vickers 
Executive Director 

 
 
Required L-2 / L-3 Procedures (Page2) 
 
L-3 Requirements: 
1. The L-3 must be fully executed and signed within 180 days before the first day of the academy. 
2. The psychological examination must be conducted by a properly licensed psychologist or 

psychiatrist. Drug therapist, marital counselor, and others do not meet rule requirements. 
3. The psychologist must be selected by the employing agency or the academy.  Giving the cadet the L-

3 form and letting them find a psychologist does not meet the rule. 
4. The psychologist must be familiar with the job/academy duties for the license being sought.  One 

way to ensure this is to provide a copy of the job description and have the physician sign 
documentation stating they received and understood the job description. 

5. The psychologist/psychiatrist must be licensed by the Texas Board of Examiners of Psychologists. 
You may go here to confirm: https://www.tsbep.texas.gov/public-information-on-licensees 

6. The psychologist must read, sign and date the L-3 form in the appropriate section. It must be 
physically signed by the psychologist. The use of a signature stamp, e-signature or signed by an 
assistant does not meet the rule requirement.  

7. The psychologist must be provided a copy of the personal history statement (PHS) and any 
background reports or documents for review purposes prior to conducting the interview.  

8. The psychological exam must be conducted in accordance with professional standards, including: 
a. Use of two instruments, one measuring personality traits and one measuring psychopathology, 
b. Conducting a face-to-face interview after the two instruments above are scored and a review of 

the personal history statement and background documents. 
9. The interviews must be conducted face-to-face unless advanced written authorization is approved 

by TCOLE to conduct live video interviews based upon urgent necessity and meeting industry 
security requirements (HIPPA).  

 
Training academies may contact the designated Academy Contract Evaluator (ACE) for your area, and 
other agencies may contact your Field Services Agent (FSA) for additional questions or information.  
Contact information is located on the TCOLE web site: http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/contact-us   
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