Peace Officers Jailers and Telecommunicators with two years but less than 5 years out of service.

Licensee can be reactivated if they meet the current requirements of commission rule 219.11.

Peace officer requirements

1. meet the current licensing standards in §217.1 of this chapter;
1. successfully complete a supplementary peace officer training course approved by the commission;
1. provide copies of all military discharge(s) (DD214), if applicable;
1. submit application and any required fee(s) in the format currently prescribed by the commission; then
1. pass the licensing exam as provided in §219.1.

Individuals seeking to reactivate their peace officer license, along with the supplemental peace officer course must meet the following training requirements based on the certificate level when your license became inactive.  Total training must equal at least 40 hours or additional classes will be required.

	No Certificate or Basic PO Certificate
	Intermediate, Advanced, Masters Certificate

	3939 Cultural Diversity
	The current State and Federal Law Update course

	3232 Special Investigative Topics
	Additional classes to fulfill 40 hour requirement

	The current State and Federal Law Update course
	

	Only one of the following:
3840 C.I.T. Train the Trainer, 3841 Crisis Intervention Training, 3843 Crisis Intervention Training Update, 4001 Mental Health Officer Training Course
	




County Jailer requirements

1) complete Cultural Diversity (3939); 
2) provide copies of all military discharge(s) (DD 214) if applicable; 
3) submit application, DD214, and the required fee; then
4) pass the licensing exam as provided in 219.1.


Telecommunicator requirements 

1) meet the current licensing standards in §217.1 of this chapter;
2) complete 20 hours of required training, approved by the commission;
3) provide copies of all military discharge(s) (DD214), if applicable;
4) submit application and any required fee(s) in the format currently prescribed by the commission; then
5) pass the licensing exam as provided in §219.1.


Individual has never received a dishonorable or other discharge based on misconduct barring future military service, Commission Rule 217.1(a)(13).
To meet the current licensing requirements of TCOLE Rule 217.1, you must have a national criminal history records check based on your fingerprints.  Included with this application is the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST).  Questions about the fingerprint process call (512) 936-7700. 


Preparation for the Licensing Examination

The latest “Texas” editions of the following references are suggested reading.

Peace Officer						County Corrections
1.  Code of Criminal Procedure				1.  Code of Criminal Procedure
2.  Penal Code							2.  Penal Code
3.  Transportation Code					3.  Health and Safety Code
4.  Alcoholic Beverage Code				4.  Jail Standards
5.  Health and Safety Code
6.  Family Code
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Potential sources for the reference material:

Public Libraries							LexisNexis (800) 833-9844
College Bookstores						Sterling Publications (210) 438-7110
Texas Municipal Courts Education Center (512) 320-8274		West Publications (800) 328-9352
Texas Commission on Jail Standards (512) 463-5505

Texas statutes can be found online at www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us. 


The “Basic Peace Officer,” “Basic County Correction,” “Basic Telecommunications” and “The Texas Supplemental Peace Officer Course” outlines are on the Commission website at www.tcole.texas.gov under “Law Enforcement Trainer, Instructor Resources.  The supplemental peace officer course can be taken through one of the Commission academies.  Academies are listed on our website. 

NOTICE

Complete the process for fingerprint check.  Complete and submit a notarized application.  Attach the non-refundable $250.00 fee with the required documents, and mail to the Commission.  You will be notified of your qualifications to take the exam.  You have 180 days from the date of notification to take your allowed exam attempts.  According to Commission Rule §219.1, no extensions will be given, except where required by law.

Please allow at least two weeks to receive your notification to test.  

A list of test sites can be found on our website at www.tcole.texas.gov .  Contact a test site to schedule an exam, directions to site, any exam fee and method of payment.  You will not be allowed to attempt the exam without a state or federal photo ID.  

If you have any questions, please call (512) 936-7700.

	[image: ]
	
FAST
Fingerprint Application Services of Texas

	

TCOLE
CERTIFICATION



This document is your FAST Fingerprint Pass for a national criminal history record check. Please schedule a fingerprint appointment by visiting www.L1enrollment.com or by calling 1-888-467-2080. You must pay the $41.45 fee for FAST services online with a credit card or onsite with a check or money order. Cash is not accepted!

1.   Logon to www.L1enrollment.com			6.   Select: TCOLE
2.   Select: Texas						7.   Enter: Hiring Agency ORI, TX923466Z
3.   Select: Online Scheduling				8.   Enter: LE-453007
4.   Select: English or Espanol				9.   Follow the prompts to enter requested information.
5.   Enter: First and Last Name				10. Bring this completed form with you to your appointment.


Section One: Qualified Entity Information
TCOLE ORI#: TX923466Z		Hiring Agency ORI:   TX923466Z 		Original TCN: ________________________________
(If resubmission for rejected fingerprints)
|_|   Jailer        |_|   Peace Officer        |_|   Telecommunicator  
Licensing Agency Name:  Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 
[bookmark: _GoBack]Contact:  Nazareth Munoz,   nazareth.munoz@tcole.texas.gov 
Hiring Agency or Academy Address:  6330 E. Hwy 290, Suite 200			Austin		TX		78723-1035
Street Address				  City 		State		      Zip

Section Two: Applicant Name (To be completed by applicant)

Last: ______________________________________ First: _________________________________ Middle: ________________________
(Please print)

Section Three: Waiver Information (To be signed by applicant)

I certify that all information I provided in relation to this criminal history record check is true and accurate. I authorize the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to access Texas and Federal criminal history record information that pertains to me and disseminate that information to the designated Authorized Agency or Qualified Entity with which I am or am seeking to be employed or to serve as a volunteer, through the DPS Fingerprint-based Applicant Clearinghouse of Texas and as authorized by Texas Government Code Chapter 411 and any other applicable state or federal statute or policy. I authorize the Texas Department of Public Safety to submit my fingerprints and other application information to the FBI for the purpose of comparing the submitted information to available records in order to identify other information that may be pertinent to the application. I authorize the FBI to disclose potentially pertinent information to the DPS during the processing of this application and for as long hereafter as may be relevant to the activity for which this application is being submitted. I understand that the FBI may also retain my fingerprints and other applicant information in the FBI’s permanent collection of fingerprints and related information, where all such data will be subject to comparisons against other submissions received by the FBI and to further disseminations by the FBI as may be authorized under the Federal Privacy Act (5USC 552a(b)). I understand I am entitled to obtain a copy of any criminal history record check and challenge the accuracy and completeness of the information before a final determination is made by the Qualified Entity.  I also understand the Qualified Entity may deny me access to children, the elderly, or individuals with disabilities until the criminal history record check is completed


Signature: ______________________________________________________ Date: _______________  


Section Four: Service Center Information (To be completed by FAST Enrollment Officer)
Date Prints Taken _______________________ Amount Charged For Service:   $41.45  
Paid by: |_|  Check |_|  Money Order |_|  Visa   |_|  MasterCard  |_|  Billing Acct ___________________________________________________
TCN: ____________________________________________________________

|_|     I HAVE COMPARED THE GOVERNMENT-ISSUED IDENTIFICATION PRESENTED BY THE APPLICANT AND ATTEST THAT TO MY BEST
DETERMINATION; I HAVE FINGERPRINTED THE SAME PERSON.


E.O. Name: ________________________________________________ E.O. Signature: ________________________________________________
(Please print)
	TEXAS COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT
6330 E. Highway 290, STE. 200
Austin, Texas  78723-1035
Phone:  (512) 936-7700
http://www.tcole.texas.gov 


Reactivation Application Over 2 years Less than 5 years (5111)

Return this application with a non-refundable fee of $250.00 (money order, agency or cashier’s check) payable to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE).  Any required documents must accompany this original application.

Incomplete applications will not be processed.

Please type or print all information.
Date of Application: ______________						       U.S. Citizen:     |_| Yes    |_| No
Type of license, reactivating:  (Check one)
|_|   Peace Officer:       40 hour required training has been completed, including legislatively mandated classes 
Supplemental peace officer course has been completed
|_|   Jailer:  Culture Diversity training has been completed
|_|   Telecommunicator:  20 hours of training completed

Last Name: _____________________  First Name: ____________________________ M.I.: ____   Suffix:_________
TCOLE PID: ________________   Driver’s License Number:___________________     State:_______
Race / Ethnicity:   |_|  American Indian or Alaskan Native     |_|  Asian     |_|  Black     |_|  Hispanic     |_|  Multicultural     |_|  White 
Date of Birth:_______________       Gender: _________			   |_| High School Diploma     |_| GED 
Address:___________________________________________  City:________________________  State: __________
Zip Code:________________  Phone Number:_____________________  E-mail: ______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I, the applicant, am fully aware that this application is a government document and, under penalties of perjury I declare the foregoing information to be true and correct.



	
	
	

	Applicant’s Name   (Type or Print)
	
	Applicant’s Signature




	Sworn to and subscribed before me, this the
	
	day of
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	Name of Notary (Print or Type)


	

SEAL OR STAMP

	


____________________ 
My Commission Expires
	


______________________________________
Signature of Notary
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