	TEXAS COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT

6330 E. Highway 290, STE. 200 

Austin, Texas  78723-1035
Phone:  (512) 936-7700

http://www.tcole.texas.gov 


FIREARMS PROFICIENCY FOR JUVENILE PROBATION OFFICERS
Commission Rule(s) §221.1 & §221.35
Submit PID Assignment form if TCOLE PID has not been issued.  Call (512) 936-7700 if questions

Non-refundable $35 fee must be included.

Money order, agency or cashier’s check.

APPLICANT INFORMATION
	1. TCOLE PID
Required
	2. Last Name


	3. First Name
	4. M.I.


	5. Suffix (Jr., etc.)

	6. Date of Birth
 
	7.  Home or Permanent Mailing Address


	8. City
	9. State


	10. Zip Code
	11. Phone Number (include area code)

Home:

  Cell:
	12. E-mail


DEPARTMENT INFORMATION

	13. Date Appointed
	14. Agency Number
	15. Agency Name

	16. Agency Mailing Address


	17. City

	18. County

	19. Zip Code

	20. Phone Number




21. Course 2402 Completion Date:_____________
22. (  Completed “Licensee Psychological and Emotional Health Declaration (L-3)” form on file with employing agency
	(
	Initial Application - Agency retains accessible copies of form and other documents required by 221.35 and Memorandum of Understanding

	(
	Renewal


	Date authorized to carry a firearm: ______________

Date authorization terminated: _____________


Commission Rule 221.35
(a) To qualify for firearms proficiency for juvenile probation officers certificate, an applicant must meet the following requirements, including:

(1) current employment as a juvenile probation officer for at least one year by the county juvenile probation department; 

(2) active certification as a juvenile probation officer by the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission; 

(3) successful completion of the commission's current firearms training program for juvenile probation officers; 

(4) documentation from each chief administrative officer that has authorized the applicant's participation in the juvenile probation officer firearms proficiency training program that the applicant has been subjected to a complete search of local, state and national records to disclose any criminal record or criminal history; and 

(5) written documentation from each chief administrative officer that has authorized the applicant's participation in the juvenile probation officer firearms proficiency training program that the applicant has been examined by a psychologist, selected by the current appointing/employing agency, who is licensed by the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists. The applicant must be declared in writing by that professional to be in satisfactory psychological and emotional health to serve as the type of juvenile probation officer for which the certificate is sought. 

(b) The holder of a certificate issued under this section must meet the firearms proficiency requirements at least once every 12 months. 

(c) Certificates issued under this section expire two years from the date of issuance. Within forty-five days of the expiration of a certificate, a juvenile probation officer may apply for the issuance of a renewal. Juvenile probation officers must meet the requirements in subsections (a)(1), (a)(2) and (b) of this section in order to renew the certificate. 

I, the applicant, attest that I meet all requirements for issuance of the Firearms Proficiency for Juvenile Probation Officers Certificate 221.35, including Proficiency Certificate Requirements 211.1, and have included the non-refundable $35 fee.
__________________________________________________
_______________
Signature of Applicant






Date

I, chief administrator or designee, attest that the applicant meets the requirements of 221.1 and 221.35 and Memorandum of Understanding between The Texas Juvenile Probation Commission and TCLEOSE.  I am fully aware that this application is a government document and, under penalties of perjury, I declare the foregoing information to be true and correct.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Agency Administrator (Type or Print)




Signature


Date
Please check box for initial or duplicate card:
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Photo ID Card: (5131) 
(initial and renewal cards)
· Attach or enclose a standard-size color passport photograph (head and shoulders with a plain background), regular photo, or digital passport photo on a CD.  If sending a photo, print and sign your name on the back of the photo.  Photos and CDs will not be returned.

· Submit this application, photo, and a $35 fee for each license or ID requested (made payable to TCOLE).

· Your application will be verified and your license or ID will be mailed to the address provided.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Duplicate Photo ID Card: (5322) 
(replacement cards only)
· Your photograph must already be on file with the Commission.

· Submit this application and a $35 fee for each photo ID requested (made payable to TCOLE).

· Your application will be verified and your photo ID card will be mailed to the address provided.  

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Please check if you are not submitting a photo:
 FORMCHECKBOX 
   Permission to use your driver license photo if you are not submitting a passport photo:
· Under §730.007(c)(1)(A) of the Texas Transportation Code, the Texas Department of Public Safety is permitted to disclose a person’s driver license photographic image to a law enforcement agency or criminal justice agency for an official purpose.  Applicants may consent to release their driver license photo to be used as their official TCOLE photo.  Please read and sign the following statement if you wish to authorize such a release.

· By checking the corresponding box, you are expressly consenting to the release of your driver license photo by the Texas Department of Public Safety to TCOLE.  Your photo will be used as your official photo for your ID card.  TCOLE will not release this photo to any third party, and TCOLE will be solely responsible for the security of your driver license photo while it is in their possession.
____________________________________________________________________

___________________________________

Signature of Applicant 







Date
Firearms Proficiency for Juvenile Probation Officers 3.10.2014

Page 1 of 2

