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ABSTRACT 

BPOC Chapter 9 Traffic Addendum 
 
 
Per the 84th Texas Legislature, a rider was included in the DPS budget as follows: 

46. Enhance Driver Responsibility Program Outreach and Education. Out of funds 
appropriated above, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) shall develop a statement about 
Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) surcharges and work with applicable agencies to include 
this statement in: (1) Texas Department of Insurance TexasSure insurance verification letters; 
(2) driver license renewal notices mailed by DPS; and (3) on the websites of certain cities that 
allow individuals to pay fines online for DRP surchargeable offenses. 

DPS shall develop information regarding DRP and work in cooperation with the Texas 
Commission on Law Enforcement to incorporate this information into peace officer training 
academy and continuing education curricula. 

As a result of this implementation, the following addendum (objectives) should be added to the 
Basic Peace Officer Course, Chapter 9 Traffic. 

Note to Trainers: It is the responsibility of the coordinator to add the information in this 
addendum to the Traffic section of the Basic Peace Officer Course as of January 2016. 



 
1.1 Examine the Drivers Responsibility Program (DRP) 

The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) was enacted in 2003 and can be found in Chapter 708 
of the Texas Transportation Code. It establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department 
of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses. 
Individuals are notified by mail to the address on their driver license or their latest address with 
the U.S. Postal Service each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in 
addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or 
cancellation resulting from the same conviction. 

A surcharge is an administration fee charged to a driver based on the number of points or 
convictions on the driver record. Surcharges are assessed in two ways: 

• Point System 
• Conviction-Based 

Point System 

Points are applied for moving traffic violation convictions and remain on the driver record for 
three years. Points are assigned as follows: 

Points Assignment 
 

Conviction Type Assigned Points 
Texas moving violation 2 points 
Out-of-state moving violation 2 points 
Texas moving violation resulting in a crash 3 points 
Out-of-state moving violation resulting in a crash 3 points 

 
 

Note: List of moving violations in Administrative Code, Title 37, Part 1, Chapter 15, Rule 15.89. 

A surcharge is applied when a driver accumulates six (6) points or more. The driver must pay 
$100 for the first six (6) points and $25 for each additional point. DPS reviews surcharges 
annually. A surcharge will continue to be applied if: 

• The driver record continues to reflect six (6) or more points, or 
• If the underlying conviction for the surcharge is still within three (3) years. 

Points surcharges may change with the annual review if convictions are added or removed from 
the driver record. 

Surcharges must be paid within 105 days or an individual’s driver license will be suspended for 
failure to comply with the surcharge requirements. The individual’s driving privileges will 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&amp;app=9&amp;p_dir&amp;p_rloc&amp;p_tloc&amp;p_ploc&amp;pg=1&amp;p_tac&amp;ti=37&amp;pt=1&amp;ch=15&amp;rl=89


remain suspended until an installment agreement is established or all surcharges and related 
costs (service fees) are paid in full. 

 
 

Serious Convictions 

Drivers who are convicted of one or more of the offenses below will pay a yearly surcharge for 
three (3) years from the reported date of each conviction. No points are applied since the 
surcharge is automatic upon conviction. 

Conviction Surcharge 
 

Conviction Type Assigned 
Surcharges 

Intoxication: 1st offense, Texas or out-of-state conviction for driving while 
intoxicated (DWI), intoxication assault, or manslaughter. 

$1000 

Intoxication: 2nd or 3rd or more offenses, Texas or out-of-state conviction for 
DWI, intoxication assault, or manslaughter. 

$1,500 

DWI with blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or greater, Texas or out-of- 
state conviction. 

$2,000 

Driving without insurance $250 
Driving while license invalid: driver license is cancelled, suspended, denied 
renewal, or revoked. 

$250 

Driving without a license, no driver license or commercial driver license, 
expired license, or endorsement violation. 

$100 

 
 

No Insurance Conviction 

Individuals convicted of No Insurance but who have insurance at the time of the offense can 
submit proof of insurance to DPS. The suspension for the No Insurance offense will be waived 
but the individual must still pay the surcharge. 

To avoid a conviction, the individual may present proof to the court that he or she had valid 
insurance at the time the citation. If the court determines the proof of insurance was valid, the 
charges will be dismissed. 

 
 

Reduction Programs 

DRP Reductions 

• Surcharges assessed for a No Liability Insurance conviction will be reduced from 
$250/year down to $125/year if: 



o The person obtains at least a 6 month prepaid policy no later than 60 days after 
the date of offense. 

• Surcharges assessed for a No Driver License conviction will be reduced from $100/year 
down to $50/year if: 

o The person obtains a driver license no later than 60 days after the date of 
offense. 

Indigency and Incentive Programs 

Through Indigency and Incentive Programs, drivers with unpaid surcharges may qualify for 
significant reductions of the amount they owe and still maintain their driving privileges. Only 
surcharges assessed on or after September 1, 2011, will be considered for these programs. 
Eligibility is based on total income in comparison to the Federal Poverty level defined by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Refer to the below table for specifics to these 
reductions: 

 

 Indigency Program  
Poverty 

Level 
Amount Owed Reduced 

to 
Driving 

Privileges 
125% or less 10% not to exceed $250 Removes surcharge 

suspensions for 6 months 
 Incentive Program  

Poverty level Amount Owed reduced to Driving Privileges 
126% to 300% 50% Removes surcharge 

suspensions for 6 months 
 
 

Under these programs, the new reduced balance must be paid in full within six months. If the 
balance is not paid in full by the due date, driving privileges will be suspended until it is. Partial 
payments plus a $2.50 service fee will be accepted during the six-month grace period. 

Allocation of Funds 

The average collection is $170 Million annually, and the funds are distributed between: 

• General Revenue Fund (49.5%) 
• Trauma Center Fund (49.5%) 
• DPS (1%) 



Reference: 

The above information is taken in large part from: 

“Understanding the Driver responsibility Program (DRP)” Department of Public Safety, Driver 
License Division. www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/drp.htm 

http://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/drp.htm
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