
Unit 1
Roles and Responsibilities in Public Safety

1.1.0 Unit Goal: Review TCOLE Rules and Regulations.

1.1.1 Learning Objective:  Discuss the TCOLE Mission as it pertains to the establishment of standards and its enforcement of those standards.
· The mission of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, as a regulatory State agency, is to establish and enforce standards to ensure that the people of Texas are served by highly trained and ethical law enforcement, corrections, and telecommunications personnel. 
TCOLE Website  (Home » Who We Are » Background » TCOLE Mission) https://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/tcole-mission 
· The official text of the Commission’s rules can be obtained from the Texas Administrative Code and applicable editions of the Texas Register.
TCOLE Rule 211.3, TCOLE Rules Handbook Feb 1, 2020 https://www.tcole.texas.gov/sites/default/files/Rules%20Handbook%202-1-2020.pdf  
· The Commission sets policy, approves rules and procedures formulated by the Executive Director and staff, and takes formal disciplinary actions against licensees on the recommendation of the Executive Director and state Administrative Law Judges. 
TCOLE Website – Board Composition. (Home » Who We Are » The TCOLE Commission and its Members) http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/tcole-commission-and-its-members 
· Review the structure, makeup, and duties and powers of the Commission with students, particularly Occupations Code 1701.001, 1701.051, and 1701.151.

1.1.2 Learning Objective:  Identify how TCOLE Rules are organized.
· Title 37 Texas Administrative Code Chapters 211-2291
· [bookmark: bookmark0][bookmark: 126BChapter_211:__Administration][bookmark: I._124B__Title_37_Texas_Administrative_C][bookmark: 125B_Rule_changes_indicated_by_“▲“][bookmark: 146B_HChapter_211_Administration_11] Chapter 211   Administration
·  Chapter 215   Training and Educational Providers 
·  Chapter 217   Enrollment, Licensing, Appointment, and Separation
·  Chapter 218   Continuing Education 
·  Chapter 219   Pre-licensing, Reactivation, Tests, and Endorsements
· [bookmark: 250B_HChapter_221_Proficiency_Certificat] Chapter 221   Proficiency Certificates 
·  Chapter 223   Enforcement 
·  Chapter 225   Specialized Licenses 
·  Chapter 227   School Marshals 
·  Chapter 229   Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial Monument

TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Jan 1, 2022 

1.1.3 Learning Objective:  Identify the Commission Rules concerning Basic Licensing Standards (217.1).
217.1 - Minimum Standards for Enrollment and Initial Licensure.
(a) In order for an individual to enroll in any basic licensing course the provider must have
on file documentation, acceptable to the Commission, that the individual meets eligibility for licensure.
(b) The commission shall issue a license to an applicant who meets the following standards:
(1) minimum age requirement:
(A) for peace officers and public security officers, is 21 years of age; or 18 years of age if the applicant has received:
(i) an associateʹs degree; or 60 semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university; or
(ii) has received an honorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States after at least two years of active service;
(B) for jailers and telecommunicators is 18 years of age;
(2) minimum educational requirements:
(A) has passed a general educational development (GED) test indicating high school graduation level;
(B) holds a high school diploma; or
(C) for enrollment purposes in a basic peace officer academy only, has an
honorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States after at least
24 months of active duty service.
(3) is fingerprinted and is subjected to a search of local, state and U.S. national
records and fingerprint files to disclose any criminal record;
(4) has never been on court‐ordered community supervision or probation for any
criminal offense above the grade of Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years from the date of the court order;
(5) is not currently charged with any criminal offense for which conviction would be
a bar to licensure;
(6) has never been convicted of an offense above the grade of a Class B
misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years;
(7) has never been convicted or placed on community supervision in any court of an
offense involving family violence as defined under Chapter 71, Texas Family Code;
(8) for peace officers, is not prohibited by state or federal law from operating a
motor vehicle;
(9) for peace officers, is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing
firearms or ammunition;
(10) has been subjected to a background investigation completed by the enrolling or
appointing entity into the applicantʹs personal history. A background investigation shall include, at a minimum, the following:
(A) An enrolling entity shall:
(i) require completion of the Commission‐approved personal history statement;
(ii) verify that the applicant meets each individual requirement for licensure under this rule based on the personal history statement and any other information known to the enrolling entity; and
(iii) contact all previous enrolling entities.
(B) In addition to subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, a law enforcement
agency or law enforcement agency academy shall:
(i) require completion of the Commission-approved personal history statement; and
(ii) meet all requirements enacted in Occupations Code 1701.451, including submission to the Commission of a form confirming all requirements have been met. An in-person review of personnel records is acceptable in lieu of making the personnel records available electronically if a hiring agency and a previous employing law enforcement agency mutually agree to the in-person review.
(11) examined by a physician, selected by the appointing or employing agency, who is licensed by the Texas Medical Board. The physician must be familiar with the duties appropriate to the type of license sought and appointment to be made. The appointee must be declared by that professional, on a form prescribed by the commission, within 180 days before the date of appointment by the agency to be: 
(A) physically sound and free from any defect which may adversely affect the performance of duty appropriate to the type of license sought;
(B) show no trace of drug dependency or illegal drug use after a blood test or other medical test; and
(C) for the purpose of meeting the requirements for initial licensure, an individualʹs satisfactory medical exam that is conducted as a requirement
of a basic licensing course may remain valid for 180 days from the individualʹs date of graduation from that academy, if accepted by the appointing agency;
(12) examined by a psychologist, selected by the appointing, employing agency, or
the academy, who is licensed by the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists. This examination may also be conducted by a psychiatrist licensed by the Texas Medical Board. The psychologist or psychiatrist must be familiar with the duties appropriate to the type of license sought. The individual must be declared by that professional, on a form prescribed by the commission, to be in satisfactory psychological and emotional health to serve as the type of officer for which the license is sought. The examination must be conducted pursuant to professionally recognized standards and methods. The examination process must consist of a review of a job description for the position sought; review of any personal history statements; review of any background documents; at least two instruments, one which measures personality traits and one which measures psychopathology; and a face to face interview conducted after the instruments have been scored. The appointee must be declared by that professional, on a form prescribed by the commission, within 180 days before the date of the appointment by the agency;
(A) the commission may allow for exceptional circumstances where a licensed
physician performs the evaluation of psychological and emotional health.
This requires the appointing agency to request in writing and receive
approval from the commission, prior to the evaluation being completed;
or
(B) the examination may be conducted by qualified persons identified by Texas 	Occupations Code § 501.004. This requires the appointing agency to request in 	writing and receive approval from the commission, prior to the evaluation being 	completed; and
(C) for the purpose of meeting the requirements for initial licensure, an 	individualʹs satisfactory psychological exam that is conducted as a requirement of 	a basic licensing course may remain valid for 180 days from the individualʹs date 	of graduation from that academy, if accepted by the appointing agency;
(13) has never received a dishonorable discharge;
(14) has not had a commission license denied by final order or revoked;
(15) is not currently on suspension, or does not have a surrender of license currently
in effect;
(16) meets the minimum training standards and passes the commission licensing
examination for each license sought;
(17) is a U.S. citizen.
(c) For the purposes of this section, the commission will construe any court‐ordered
community supervision, probation or conviction for a criminal offense to be its closest
equivalent under the Texas Penal Code classification of offenses if the offense arose
from:
(1) another penal provision of Texas law; or
(2) a penal provision of any other state, federal, military or foreign jurisdiction.
(d) A classification of an offense as a felony at the time of conviction will never be changed because Texas law has changed or because the offense would not be a felony under current Texas laws.
(e) A person must meet the training and examination requirements:
(1) training for the peace officer license consists of:
(A) the current basic peace officer course(s);
(B) a commission recognized, POST developed, basic law enforcement training course, to include:
(i) out of state licensure or certification; and
(ii) submission of the current eligibility application and fee; or
(C) a commission approved academic alternative program, taken through a
licensed academic alternative provider and at least an associateʹs degree.
(2) training for the jailer license consists of the current basic county corrections
course(s) or training recognized under Texas Occupations Code §1701.310;
(3) training for the public security officer license consists of the current basic peace
officer course(s);
(4) training for telecommunicator license consists of telecommunicator course; and
(5) passing any examination required for the license sought while the exam
approval remains valid.
(f) The commission may issue a provisional license, consistent with Texas Occupations
	Code §1701.311, to an agency for a person to be appointed by that agency. An Agency must submit all required applications currently prescribed by the commission and all required fees before the individual is appointed. Upon the approval of the application, the commission will issue a provisional license. A provisional license is issued in the name of the applicant; however, it is issued to and shall remain in the possession of the agency. Such a license may neither be transferred by the applicant to another agency, nor transferred by the agency to another applicant. A provisional license may not be reissued and expires:
(1) 12 months from the original appointment date;
(2) on leaving the appointing agency; or
(3) on failure to comply with the terms stipulated in the provisional license
approval.
(g) The commission may issue a temporary jailer license, consistent with Texas
Occupations Code §1701.310. A jailer appointed on a temporary basis shall be enrolled
in a basic jailer licensing course on or before the 90th day after their temporary
appointment. An agency must submit all required applications currently prescribed by
the commission and all required fees before the individual is appointed. Upon the
approval of the application, the commission will issue a temporary jailer license. A
temporary jailer license may not be renewed and expires:
(1) 12 months from the original appointment date; or
(2) on completion of training and passing of the jailer licensing examination.
(h) The commission may issue a temporary telecommunicator license, consistent with
Texas Occupations Code §1701.405. An agency must submit all required applications
currently prescribed by the commission and all required fees before the individual is
appointed. Upon the approval of the application, the commission will issue a temporary
telecommunicator license. A temporary telecommunicator license expires:
(1) 12 months from the original appointment date; or
(2) on completion of training and passing of the telecommunicator licensing
examination.
On expiration of a temporary license, a person is not eligible for a new temporary
telecommunicator license for one year.
(i) A person who fails to comply with the standards set forth in this section shall not accept the issuance of a license and shall not accept any appointment. If an application for licensure is found to be false or untrue, it is subject to cancellation or recall.
(j) The effective date of this section is June 1, 2022
181B

TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Jun 1, 2022  (37 Texas Administrative Code 217.1)

1.1.4 Learning Objective:  Identify the Commission Rules concerning training requirements and TCOLE Training Mandates and their relationship to the training cycle.
Chapter 218: Continuing Education §218.1. Continuing Education Credit for Licensees.
· A TCOLE training year runs from September 1st through the following August 31st .   There are two 24-month training units in each 4-year training cycle. An example would be the cycle in which this course was developed consisted of 09/01/17 - 08/31/19 (first 2-year unit), 09/01/19 - 08/31/21 (second 2-year unit and end of the 4-year training cycle).
· 218.1(a): A continuing education course is any training course that is recognized by the commission, specifically:
· legislatively required continuing education curricula and learning objectives developed by the commission;
· training in excess of basic licensing course requirements;
· training courses consistent with assigned duties; or 
· training not included in a basic licensing course.
· 218.1(b): A law enforcement agency submitting continuing education courses under the chief administrator's approval through a departmental report of training, must have the following on file and readily accessible to the commission:
· lesson plans; or
· certificate of completion with hours indicated on the certificate;
· attendees' critique of the course that includes:
· written evaluation of the instructor; and
· an assessment of how this training was applicable to their assigned duties;
· number of students attending from the agency
§218.3 	Legislatively Required Continuing Education for Licensees:
· 218.3 (a): Each licensee shall complete the legislatively mandated continuing education in this chapter. Each appointing agency shall allow the licensee the opportunity to complete the legislatively mandated continuing education in this chapter. This section does not limit the number or hours of continuing education an agency may provide.
· 218.3(b):  Each training unit (2 years) 
· Peace officers shall complete at least 40 hours of continuing education, to include the corresponding legislative update for that unit.
· Telecommunicators shall complete at least 20 hours of continuing education to include cardiopulmonary resuscitation training.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Jun 1, 2022.

1.1.5 [bookmark: _Hlk3806802]Learning Objective:  Identify the Commission rules concerning reporting training §218.5. Reporting Legislatively Required Continuing Education.
· Each agency, academy, or training provider shall maintain proof of a licensee’s completion of legislatively required continuing education training in a format currently accepted by the commission. The report of training shall be submitted to the commission within 30 days following completion of the training. Failure to report training to the commission within 30 days is a violation of commission rules. Upon receipt of a properly completed report of training, the commission will make the appropriate entry into the training records of the licensee.
· The chief administrator of an agency that has licensees who are in non-compliance shall, within 30 days of receipt of notice of non-compliance, submit a report to the commission explaining the reasons for such non-compliance.
[bookmark: _GoBack]TCOLE. Rules Handbook Jun 1, 2022.

1.1.6 [bookmark: _Hlk3806810]Learning Objective:  Explain the purpose and completion requirements of the following statutorily required forms: L1, L2, L3, F5, and F5R.
§217.7. Reporting Appointment and Separation of a Licensee.
· Before a law enforcement agency may appoint a person licensed or seeking a license as a peace officer, county jailer, or telecommunicator the agency head or designee must:
· obtain the person’s written consent for the agency to view the person’s
employment records;
· obtain a copy of the Personal Status Report (PSR) maintained by the
commission;
· obtain a completed, signed, and notarized Personal History Statement (PHS);
· obtain a Computerized Criminal History (CCH) from TCIC and NCIC;
· obtain proof of eligibility after separation from the military, if applicable;
· conduct and document a background investigation;
· for peace officers, obtain proof of weapons qualification within the 12 months
· preceding appointment;
· for current licensees, electronically request and obtain the F‐5 Return (F5R)
· from the commission, contact each of the person’s previous law enforcement
· employers, and document the contact on the F5 return; and
· in addition to the requirements listed in this section:
· For a licensee with more than 180 days since their last appointment:
· obtain a new declaration of psychological and emotional health
(L3 Form);
· obtain a new declaration of the lack of any drug dependency or
illegal drug use (L2 Form); and
· obtain new proof that the licensee has been fingerprinted and
subjected to a search of local, state and U.S. national records and
fingerprint files to disclose any criminal record.
· For a person’s initial appointment:
· obtain proof of meeting educational requirements;
· obtain proof of meeting U.S. citizenship requirements;
· obtain new proof that the person has been fingerprinted and subjected to a search of local, state and U.S. national records and fingerprint files to disclose any criminal record;
· obtain a new declaration of psychological and emotional health (L3 Form), if more than 180 days from the graduation of the basic licensing course;
· obtain a new declaration of medical eligibility and lack of any drug dependency or illegal drug use (L2 Form), if more than 180 days from the graduation of the basic licensing course; and
· submit an appointment application (L1 Form) and receive an approval of the application before the person discharges any duties related to the license sought.
· For current licensees, submit a Statement of Appointment (L1 Form) within 7
days of the appointment.
· When a person licensed by the commission separates from an agency, the agency shall,
within 7 business days:
· submit a Separation report (Form F5) to the commission; and provide a copy to the licensee in a manner prescribed by Texas Occupations Code section 1701.452.
· A law enforcement agency that is given a signed consent form shall make the person’s employment records available to a hiring law enforcement agency as authorized by Texas Occupations Code section 1701.451.
· An agency must retain records kept under this section while the person is appointed and for a minimum of five years after the licensee’s separation date with that agency.
· The records must be maintained under the control of the agency head or designee in a format readily accessible to the commission.
· The effective date of this section is February 1, 2020.
· Instructors:   Review with students’ rule 217.8, Contesting an Employment Termination Report.
· An individual may contest an employment termination report by petition to the Executive Director; petition must be received by the ED not later than the 30th day of the date the employee received their notice of termination
TCOLE. Rules and Handbook  http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/commission-rules 
TCOLE. Forms and Applications. 
http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/forms-and-applications 

1.1.7 [bookmark: _Hlk3806820]Learning Objective: Explain the process of license suspension.  §223.15. License Suspension.
· Unless revocation is required, the commission may suspend a license or certificate for violating any provision of the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1701 or commission
rule.
· The license of a person charged with a felony and placed on community supervision
	shall be suspended for thirty years.
· The license of a person convicted or placed on community supervision for any offense
	above the grade of Class C misdemeanor may be suspended for 10 years.
· A suspension based on a Class A misdemeanor shall be at least 120 days.
· A suspension based on a Class B misdemeanor shall be at least 60 days.
· The license of a person who fails to comply with legislative continuing education
	requirements may be suspended:
· up to 90 days for first‐time noncompliance; and
· up to 180 days for second‐time noncompliance.
· The commission may suspend the license of a person who has previously received two
	written reprimands from the commission.
· Factors the commission may consider in determining a term of suspension include:
· the seriousness of the conduct resulting in the arrest;
· the required mental state of the disposition offense;
· whether the disposition offense contains an element of actual or threatened
		bodily injury or coercion against another person under the Texas Penal Code or
		the law of the jurisdiction where the offense occurred;
· the licensee’s previous violations of commission statutes or rules;
· actual or potential harm to public safety, including personal injury and property
		damage, resulting from the conduct resulting in the arrest;
· aggravating evidence existing in a particular case; and
· evidence used in rebuttal to mitigating factors.
· A suspension can begin no sooner than the date of the statute or rule violation.
· A suspension or probation may be ordered to run concurrently or consecutively with
	any other suspension or probation.
· The effective date of this section is May 1, 2017.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Feb 1, 2020  

1.1.8 [bookmark: _Hlk3806828]Learning Objective: Explain the process of revocation of a license. §223.19. License Revocation.
· The license of a person convicted of a felony shall be immediately revoked.
· The license of a person convicted or placed on community supervision for an offense directly related to the duties and responsibilities of any related office held by that person may be revoked. In determining whether an offense directly relates to such office, the commission will consider:
· the nature and seriousness of the crime;
· the relationship of the crime to the purpose for requiring a license for such office;
· the extent to which a license might offer an opportunity to engage in further criminal activity of the same type as that in which the person previously had been involved; and
· the relationship of the crime to the ability, capacity, or fitness required to
		perform the duties and discharge the responsibilities of such office.
· The license of a person convicted or placed on community supervision for any offense involving family violence shall be revoked.
· The license of a person who is noncompliant for the third time in obtaining continuing education shall be revoked.
· The license of a person who has received a dishonorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States shall be revoked.
· The license of a person who has made, submitted, caused to be submitted, or filed a false or untruthful report to the commission may be revoked.
· The license of a person who has been found to be in unauthorized possession of any commission licensing examination or portion of a commission licensing examination, or a reasonable facsimile shall be revoked.
· Revocation permanently bars the person from any future licensing or certification by the commission.
· A revoked license cannot be reinstated unless the licensee provides proof of facts
	supporting the revocation have been negated, such as:
· the felony conviction has been reversed or set aside on direct or collateral appeal, or a pardon based on subsequent proof of innocence has been issued; 
· the dishonorable or bad conduct discharge has been upgraded to above
		dishonorable or bad conduct conditions; or
· the report alleged to be false or untruthful was found to be truthful.
· During the direct appeal of any appropriate conviction, a license may be revoked
	pending resolution of the mandatory direct appeal. The license will remain 	revoked unless and until the holder proves that the conviction has been set aside 	on 	appeal.
· The holder of any revoked license may informally petition the executive director for reinstatement of that license based upon proof by the licensee that the facts supporting the revocation have been negated.
· If granted, the executive director shall inform the commissioners of such action no later than at their next regular meeting.
· If denied, the holder of a revoked license may petition the commission for a hearing to determine reinstatement based upon the same proof.
· The effective date of this section is June 1, 2022.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Jun 1, 2022  

1.1.9 [bookmark: _Hlk3806841]Learning Objective: Explain the process of reporting an arrest.

	§211.27. Reporting Responsibilities of Individuals.
· Within thirty days, a licensee or person meeting the requirements of a licensee shall report to the commission:
· any name change;
· a permanent mailing address other than an agency address;
· all subsequent address changes;
· an arrest, charge, or indictment for a criminal offense above the grade of Class C misdemeanor, or for any Class C misdemeanor involving the duties and responsibilities of office or family violence, including the name of the arresting agency, the style, court, and cause number of the charge or indictment, if any;
· the final disposition of the criminal action; and
· receipt of a dishonorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Jun 1, 2022
211.29(n).  Responsibilities of Agency Chief Administrators:
· An agency shall notify the commission electronically within 30 days, when it receives information that a person under appointment with that agency has been arrested, charged, indicted, or convicted for any offense above a Class C misdemeanor, or for any Class C misdemeanor involving the duties and responsibilities of office or family violence.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook, Feb 1, 2020  

1.1.10 [bookmark: _Hlk3806901]Learning Objective: Summarize the Mission of the Texas Peace Officer’s Memorial.  
	The Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial Committee combines the voice of the surviving families of a Fallen Peace Officer with the strength of our great State and our state-wide law enforcement agencies, associations and organizations. Our mission is not only to plan and facilitate an annual Memorial event to honour their sacrifice but to also be a source of the latest information concerning each Texas Peace Officers Line of Duty Death as they occur. (Texas Peace Officers’ Memorial Committee Website)
Instructor:  Review with students Chapter 229 TCOLE. Rules Handbook  

[bookmark: _Hlk3806915]1.2.0	Unit Goal: Review and discuss various aspects of a Telecommunicator’s Role and Responsibilities as a member of public safety.

1.2.1	Learning Objective: Define the term Telecommunicator as defined in the Texas Occupations Code.  
· "Telecommunicator" means a person acknowledged by the commission and employed by or serving a law enforcement agency that performs law enforcement services on a 24-hour basis who receives, processes, and transmits public safety information and criminal justice data for the agency by using a base radio station on a public safety frequency regulated by the Federal Communications Commission or by another method of communication.
“Occupations Code.” Texas Legislature. Occupations Code, Title 10. Occupations Related to Law Enforcement and Security. Chapter 1701. Section 1701.001. (7).
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1701.htm
· Other titles used for “Telecommunicator.” 
NENA Master Glossary of 9-1-1 Terminology. NENA, n.d. Web, 10 Nov. 2017. Page 196. https://www.nena.org/?page=Glossary  Telecommunicator AKA: Call Taker, Dispatcher. Person employed by a PSAP and/or an EMD Service Provider qualified to answer incoming emergency telephone calls and/or provides for the appropriate emergency response either directly or through communication with the appropriate PSAP.
TCOLE. Rules Handbook (May 1, 2017). Page 76 Section 1701.001 (7) http://www.tcole.texas.gov/sites/default/files/Rules%20Handbook%205_1_2017.pdf  

1.2.2 [bookmark: _Hlk3806939]Learning Objective: Define the term Emergency as defined in the Texas Occupation Code 1701.405.   
· “Emergency” means the occurrence or imminent threat of damage, injury, or loss of life or property resulting from an extraordinary natural or man-made cause.
(2) “Occupations Code.” Texas Legislature. Occupations Code, Title 10. Telecommunicators. Chapter 1701.405 (2) http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1701.htm 

1.2.3 [bookmark: _Hlk3806946]Learning Objective: Define the term Communication.  
· Communications is a process by which information is exchanged between individuals through a common system of symbols, signs, or behavior. 
Communication. Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 05 December 2017. Definition 1. www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/communication 

1.2.4 [bookmark: _Hlk3806951]Learning Objective: Define types of a Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP). 
· An entity responsible for receiving 9-1-1 calls and processing those calls according to a specific operational policy.
· Primary PSAP: A PSAP to which 9-1-1 calls are routed directly from the 9-1-1 Control Office.
· Secondary PSAP: A PSAP to which 9-1-1 calls are transferred from a Primary PSAP.
· Alternate PSAP: A PSAP designated to receive calls when the primary PSAP is unable to do so.
· Consolidated PSAP: A facility where multiple Public Safety Agencies choose to operate as a single 9-1-1 entity.
· Legacy PSAP: A PSAP that cannot process calls received via i3-defined call interfaces (IP-based calls) and still requires the use of CAMA or ISDN trunk technology for delivery of 9-1-1 emergency calls.
· Serving PSAP: The PSAP to which a call would normally be routed.
NENA Master Glossary of 9-1-1 Terminology.” Page 167. NENA, n.d. Web, 05 December 2017. https://www.nena.org/?page=Glossary 

1.2.5 [bookmark: _Hlk3806992]Learning Objective: Explain the roles and responsibilities of a Telecommunicator at a Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP). 
· Public Safety Call taker
· The function of a calltaker is to process incoming calls through the analyzing, prioritizing, and disseminating of information to aid in the safety of the public and responders.
· Law Enforcement Dispatcher
· The function of a law enforcement dispatcher is to provide dispatch services by analyzing, prioritizing, and processing calls, while maintaining radio contact with responders to ensure safe, efficient, and effective responses to requests for law enforcement services, in accordance with local, state, tribal, or national standards. A law enforcement dispatcher may receive calls for service by incoming telephone calls, Computer-Aided Dispatch (CAD) incidents, radio traffic, and other methods or developing technologies.
· Fire Service Dispatcher
· The function of a Fire Service Dispatcher is to provide dispatch services by analyzing, prioritizing, and processing calls while maintaining radio contact with Minimum Training Standards for Public Safety Telecommunicators responders to ensure safe, efficient, and effective responses to requests for fire services, in accordance with local, state, tribal, or national standards. A fire service dispatcher may receive calls for service by incoming telephone calls, CAD incidents, radio traffic, and other methods or developing technologies.
· Emergency Medical Services Dispatcher
· The function of an Emergency Medical Services Dispatcher is to provide dispatch services by analyzing, prioritizing, and processing calls while maintaining radio contact with responders to ensure safe, efficient, and effective responses to calls for emergency medical services, in accordance with local, state, tribal, or national standards. An EMS Dispatcher may receive calls for service by incoming telephone calls, CAD incidents, radio traffic, and other methods or developing technologies.
INSTRUCTOR NOTE:  Provide students with a copy of, and review with them the APCO ANS 3.103.2.2015, Minimum Training Standards for Public Safety Telecommunicators.” Chapter 7 – 10. Page 24 – Page 31 APCO, n.d. Web, 28 Jan. 2019.  https://www.apcointl.org/download/minimum-training-standards-for-public-safety-telecommunicators/?wpdmdl=6288&ind=1536696648400

[bookmark: _Hlk3807002]1.3.0 	Unit Goal: Review how Quality Assurance (QA), Quality Control (QC), Quality Improvement (QI) and performance standards are used to recognize excellence, identify areas needing improvement and ensure performance measures are met. 

1.3.1	Learning Objective: Define Quality Assurance (QA).
Quality Assurance (QA) - All actions are taken to ensure that standards and procedures are adhered to and that delivered products or services meet performance requirements.
Standard for the Establishment of a Quality Assurance and Quality Improvement Program for Public Safety Answering Points. APCO/NENA ANS 1.107.1.2015. Definitions 1.3, Page 16.

[bookmark: _Hlk3807082]1.3.2	Learning Objective: Define Quality Control (QC).
Quality Control (QC) - a system for verifying and maintaining a desired level of quality in an existing product or service by careful planning, use of proper equipment, continued inspection, and corrective action as required.
Quality Control. Dictionary.com, Retrieved June 6, 2018. Collins English Dictionary 2012. http://www.dictionary.com/browse/quality-control
[bookmark: _Hlk3807100]1.3.3	Learning Objective: Define Quality Improvement (QI).
Quality Improvement (QI) - An organized system that assesses and evaluates the process to improve the quality of services provided.
Standard for the Establishment of a Quality Assurance and Quality Improvement Program for Public Safety Answering Points. APCO/NENA ANS 1.107.1.2015. Definitions 1.3, Page 17.
[bookmark: _Hlk3807123]1.3.4	Learning Objective: Define Daily Observation Report (DOR).
Daily Observation Report (DOR) – standardized evaluation guideline to record observed performance to an established standard during initial training. 
Field Training Officer Course. TCOLE Course 3720, Unit 3, Evaluation Process.  September 2010, 3.4, A, Page 17.

[bookmark: _Hlk3807131]1.3.5	Learning Objective: Identify the components used to conduct Skills Performance Evaluations.
· The Training Evaluation Process – each trainee should be evaluated in a number of categories that, when taken together, reflect the totality of the job for which the trainee was hired.  These categories should be rooted in a “job task analysis” completed specifically for the agency.  
Field Training Officer Course. TCOLE Course 3720, Unit 3, Evaluation Process.  September 2010, 3.4, A, 2, Page 17. 
· Importance of the evaluation process:
· The frequency of employee evaluations depends on each agency’s policy.  Agencies will usually require evaluations on a time-sensitive basis that meets the needs of the organization.  Some agencies will require daily evaluations be completed during the training process.  
· Evaluations help measure and track performance and provide important documentation for litigation protection and remedial training design.  
· Evaluations ensure the continual feedback to employees and provides it in written form helps lessen communication errors between the evaluator and employee.  
· Although objectivity is sought, some subjectivity is inherent in most grading systems.  Clearly defined evaluation guidelines must describe each rating category and provide examples of situations that most closely match the rating to be given.  
· Understanding the agency’s evaluation system is paramount to making the rating and feedback system functional.  
· Supervisors must recognize common rating errors because both the agency and the employee will be shortchanged if ratings do not accurately represent the employee’s performance.  All criteria used to measure performance must be both “reliable” and “valid”.
Field Training Officer Course. TCOLE Course 3720, Unit 3, Evaluation Process.  September 2010, 3.1, A, 1-6, Page 15.
· Reliability and validity relating to performance evaluation:
· Reliability – means the evaluation guidelines used to describe work behavior are accurately described so the evaluator can use them to consistently describe the employee’s behavior.
· Validity – means the evaluation guidelines and evaluation documents measure what they are supposed to measure regarding an employee’s work performance in a specific category.
Field Training Officer Course. TCOLE Course 3720, Unit 3, Evaluation Process.  September 2010, 3.1, A, 1-6, Page 15-16.

[bookmark: _Hlk3807140]1.3.6	Learning Objective: 	Identify common Core Competencies used in Skills Performance.
· Telecommunicator Core Competencies: 
· Geography
· Policy/Procedure
· Call Processing
· Equipment and Technology
· Interpersonal Skills (Emotional Intelligence, Customer Service, Stress Management, etc.)
· Communications Skills (Verbal, written)
· Use of Resources (Internal and external)	
Core Competency. Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission Telecommunicator Program Office, Communications Training Officer (CTO) 2014-Student Manual, Other types of performance statements/outcomes. Page 44. 
[bookmark: _Hlk3807156]1.3.7	Learning Objective: Identify QA Trends to address Continuing Education/In-Service for QI.
· State Mandates – A state agency, county, special district, or municipality that appoints or employs a telecommunicator shall provide training to the telecommunicator of not less than 20 hours during each 24-month training unit.  The training must be approved by the commission and consist of topics selected by the commission and the employing entity.  
Texas Administrative Code, §§ Title 37 Part 7-Chapter 218-218.3 (2018).
Training Requirements. Texas Commission on Law Enforcement. http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/training-requirements 
· Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Telecommunicator Certifications:
· Basic Proficiency Certificate
· Intermediate Proficiency Certificate
· Advanced Proficiency Certificate
· Master Proficiency Certificate
Proficiency Certificates. Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.  Retrieved June 9, 2019. http://www.tcole.texas.gov/content/proficiency-certificates 
· National Standards (9-1-1.gov) – Recommended Minimum Training Guidelines for Telecommunicators. 
Recommended Minimum Training Guidelines for the Telecommunicator.  9-1-1.gov, Section 1. https://www.911.gov/pdf/Minimum_Training_Guidelines_for_911_Telecommunicator_2016.pdf 
· Trending today – (Current training trends, for example, CIT, Mental Health, Health and Wellness, Active Shooter, and emerging technology).


Unit 1 Roles and Responsibilities Resources

· [bookmark: _Hlk3807286]What is Communication? Dominique Hitchcock.  Published Jan. 10, 2014, Retrieved Nov. 10, 2017.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4XGnv9XLyk
· Leno Dealing with the Public. Quinton Smith. YouTube, Published Mar. 13, 2012.  Retrieved Nov. 10, 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QQ-OutNIhI

Glossary/Acronyms

[bookmark: _Hlk3807350]Alternate PSAP - A PSAP designated to receive calls when the primary PSAP is unable to do so.
Communication - An act or instance of transmitting; information communicated; information transmitted or conveyed; a verbal or written message; a process by which information is exchanged between individuals through a common system of symbols, signs, or behavior; or exchange of information.
Consolidated PSAP - A facility where multiple Public Safety Agencies choose to operate as a single 9-1-1 entity.
Emergency - "Emergency" means the occurrence or imminent threat of damage, injury, or loss of life or property resulting from an extraordinary natural or man-made cause.
Legacy PSAP - A PSAP that cannot process calls received via i3-defined call interfaces (IP-based calls) and still requires the use of CAMA or ISDN trunk technology for delivery of 9-1-1 emergency calls.
Primary PSAP - A PSAP to which 9-1-1 calls are routed directly from the 9-1-1 Control Office.
Public Safety Answering Point - An entity responsible for receiving 9-1-1 calls and processing those calls according to a specific operational policy. See also: Primary PSAP, Secondary PSAP, Alternate PSAP, Consolidated PSAP, Legacy PSAP, and Serving PSAP.
Quality Assurance (QA) - All actions are taken to ensure that standards and procedures are adhered to and that delivered products or services meet performance requirements.
Quality Assurance (QA) - All actions are taken to ensure that standards and procedures are adhered to and that delivered products or services meet performance requirements.
Quality Improvement (QI) - An organized system that assesses and evaluates the process to improve the quality of services provided.
Secondary PSAP - A PSAP to which 9-1-1 calls are transferred from a Primary PSAP.
Serving PSAP - The PSAP to which a call would normally be routed.
[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]Telecommunicator - “Telecommunicator” means a person acknowledged by the Commission and employed by or serving a law enforcement agency that performs law enforcement services on a 24-hour basis who receives, processes, and transmits public safety information and criminal justice data for the agency by using a base radio station on a public safety frequency regulated by the Federal Communications Commission or by another method of communications.
Telecommunicators may also have a title of: Public Safety Call Taker, Law Enforcement Dispatcher, Radio Dispatcher, Public Safety Dispatcher, Fire Dispatcher, and EMS Dispatcher. These are just a few of the most common titles; some agencies may have other titles for Telecommunicators.

